CAED 2020 — Call for Papers

The Tinbergen Institute and the graduate program in Business Data Science are proud to host:

Comparative Analysis of Enterprise Data

Conference Dates: August 27-29, 2020
Location: Erasmus University Rotterdam, the Netherlands
Keynote Speaker: Jon Van Reenen (MIT)

CAED invites submissions of paper proposals for its 16th conference on research using enterprise microdata to be held at Erasmus University, Rotterdam, the Netherlands. The conference promotes comparative research using enterprise microdata on a variety of topics and from different (and inter) disciplinary approaches. The conference is a unique meeting point for producers and users of these data, including statisticians, survey methodologists, data scientists, economists and econometricians, business researchers and other social scientists. It is also an opportunity for policymakers to acquaint themselves with the newest research results and policy evidence and evaluation in this rapidly expanding field.

Submit: Either a full paper with an abstract of 400-600 words or an extended abstract of 800-1600 words, including sufficient description of the data used in the analysis and key results. Include title, authors, affiliations, and the email address of the corresponding author.
Submission URL:
Deadline for paper submission: April 10, 2020
Authors chosen to present papers at this conference will be notified in May.
Conference Information:
Conference Fee: 100 Euro, includes lunches social event. Fee is waived for speakers (1 per accepted paper) and PhD students.
Keynote Speaker: John Van Reenen (MIT)
For any questions, send your email to:

Topics of interest include but are not limited to:

  • Productivity
  • International Trade
  • Firm Dynamics
  • Information and communication technology
  • R&D
  • Innovation Strategy
  • Competition
  • Digital Marketing
  • Transition and development
  • Labor and Personnel Economics
  • Environment
  • Corporate governance
  • Corporate finance

Scientific Committee:

  • Eric Bartelsman, Tinbergen Institute
  • Emek Basker, US Census Bureau
  • Chiara Criscuolo, OECD
  • Jan De Loecker, KU Leuven
  • Sabien Dobbelaere, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam
  • Maarten Goos, Utrecht University
  • Yoonsoo Lee, Sogang University
  • Mark Roberts, Penn State
  • Jagadeesh Sivadasan, University of Michigan
  • Valerie Smeets, Aarhus University
  • Frederic Warzynski, Aarhus University

Sponsored by: The Tinbergen Institute and the program in Business Data Science; CompNet