When you are working on the CISER servers you want to know that your work is being saved and backed up. By default files get saved to the C drive. Do not save work to the C Drive. Everything on the C drive gets cleared on a monthly basis. We can not retrieve files that get deleted if stored within the C drive. Example of C drive location follows. “C:\Users\jrg363_rs”
Store your work onto your personal U drive. Anything there will be backed up.
Locate U drive from within servers
- Open the “File Explorer” Application
- Click “This PC” on the left
- Underneath “Network Locations” there is a work space labelled by your CISER username. Save files within the network drive named after your CISER username.
- Documents, Desktop, Downloads are some examples of safe places within your U drive.
More information about this in the following link. Your Work space